How to solve Apt-get update error

So recently I have had some problems Advanced Package Tool, better known as APT. The popular linux package manager.

I have received the following errors when I have run

sudo apt-get update

.

W: Failed to fetch http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/dists/trusty/Release Unable to find expected entry 'universe/source/Sources' in Release file (Wrong sources.list entry or malformed file)

I tried to regenerate the sources.list several times. By removing it and then running apt-get update again. I also read about a million posts on askubuntu and stack overflow.

In the end, the fix for me was to generate a new source.list. This is the tool I used to create a new source.list file.

https://repogen.simplylinux.ch
You then just copy-paste it and add it to /etc/apt/sources.list
Then I ran

sudo apt-get update

But that threw a lot of errors. So I ran, as apt suggested,

sudo apt-get update --fix-missing

And that fixed the whole issue, at least for now.

Leave a Reply

